About us

The aim of Tower Hamlets Education Partnership is to meet the challenge of ensuring that all children and young people in Tower Hamlets achieve the best possible outcomes and flourish through an effective partnership of schools.

Led by schools, for schools, THE Partnership is building on 20 years of excellence in Tower Hamlets and an existing culture of collaborative working to continue to raise standards.

Our core values:
o Aspiration
o Trust and support
o Equality and inclusion
o Transparency and accountability

The primary focus of THE Partnership is collaboration for school improvement – for all schools, not just for those experiencing difficulties.

Our key activities include knowing the strengths and needs of the schools in our Partnership, through our school improvement team and leadership consultants and through the mechanism of peer review and offering a package of membership services, traded services, training and brokering.

THE Partnership is registered as a School Company – a company limited by guarantee with charitable status – owned by its member schools.


Our Staff

Tracy Smith – Executive Director
Sarah-Jane Lowry – PA to Executive Director and Administration Officer

Alison Gawthrope – Head of Primary Education and Partnerships
Carolyn Lindsay – Senior School Improvement Officer
Nicole Gurvidi – Senior School Improvement Officer
Shoshannah Thompson – School Improvement Officer
Nightingale Simson – Senior Administration Officer

Julia Weston – Education Consultant
Mary Jones – Education Consultant

Anne Pepper – Leadership Consultant
James Heale – Leadership Consultant
Rob Robson – Leadership Consultant
Steve Wilks – Leadership Consultant
Susan Sutton – Leadership Consultant

NQT Appropriate Body
Sue Crane – Independent Consultant


Our Board

We currently have nine Directors on our Board. Each bringing a wealth of education knowledge and experience to help shape THE Partnership.

Aziz Choudhury
Christine Gilbert, CBE
Debbie Jones
Michael Keating
Robert Crothers (Chair)
Shahanaz Begum
Sir Alasdair Macdonald
Sir Kevan Collins
Stephen Purse

Board non-voting observers
Tracy Smith – Executive Director of Tower Hamlets Education Partnership
Christine McInnes – LBTH Divisional Director Education & Partnerships

Advisory Council

The main purpose of the Advisory Council will be to support the vision and the values of THE Partnership, modelling these in its own practice. Reflecting the diversity of schools and their stakeholders it will advise and be consulted with by the Board and Executive Director on the strategic direction and performance of THE Partnership.

The Council will support THE Partnership to ensure effective school improvement is embedded in a wider understanding of the local community and its needs as well as emerging changes in its hopes and aspirations.

Area of Representation Name Organisation
Executive Director Tracy Smith THE Partnership
Advisory Council Representative Michael Keating THEP Board Director/Advisory Council Chair
Head Teacher Dee Bleach Mayflower Primary School
Head Teacher Vacancy TBC
Head Teacher Vacancy TBC
School Governor Dave Lake Bow School
School Governor Vacancy TBC
Associate Member Damian Brady Toynbee Hall
Local Authority Representative Amy Whitelock Gibbs LBTH
Associate Members Forum Anna Riddell Tower Hamlets Together
Faith Representative Rev Alan Green Interfaith Forum
Trade Union Representative Alex Kenny NUT
Health & Social Care Representative Phillip Bennet-Richards Tower Hamlets Together
Parent Representative Jill McGinley LBTH Parent Family Support